Product Variants

One of the most powerful aspects of products in Lemon Squeezy is the ability to create product "variants" (or tiers). Variants allow you to offer multiple variations of the same product. In the world of physical goods, you might have different variants for things like size, color, etc. For digital goods, you might want to use variants to offer:

  • Software with different license levels (e.g. 5 seats, 10 seats, 20 seats)
  • An ebook with different package levels (e.g. PDF only, PDF + extra resources, PDF + extra resources + video course)
  • A membership with different access levels (e.g. basic, pro, mega)

Each variant can have its own name and description as well as its own: 

Adding Variants

To add a variant to your product, click the Add variant button in the Variants section:

You will then be taken to a new panel where you can fill in the details of your new variant. Once you're finished, you can Save and go back to the product panel. At this point, you'll notice a few changes.

  1. Your new variant is now listed in the Variants section.
  2. You can no longer edit the price, files and license key settings at the product level.

If you want to go back to having a non-variant product, simply delete your variants and the price, files and license key settings will re-appear in the product panel.

Purchasing Variants

Any enabled variants will be shown on the checkout page and a customer can choose which variant they would like to purchase.

The customer will then be able to download the files attached to the variant they purchased via the My Orders page.

Updating Variants

Variants can be edited at any time and can be re-ordered by dragging and dropping them. Customers who purchase a variant will able to download whatever files are attached to the variant. So if you update the files for a variant all existing customers who have already purchased that variant can only download the new files. For example, if you release a new version of a software product you can update the variant files and all new and existing customers can download the latest version of the software.

Variants can also be disabled by toggling them off. Disabled variants will be hidden and cannot be purchased at checkout. However, any customers who have purchased an existing variant will always be able to access that variant, even the variant is disabled later. This functionality is useful if you want to create a new variant for an update of your product. All existing customers still have access to the old variant while new customers can only purchase the new variant. For example, if you release a new major version of a software product and want to offer the new version only to new customers.

Deleting Variants

Deleting a variant will make the files unavailable for any customers who have purchased the variant in the past. In most cases, we recommend you turn off the variant (as described above) instead of deleting it completely.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us